Overview of changes to pricing and user model

In 2020, New Relic switched to a new pricing plan and a new account/user model. This doc explains:

Overview of pricing and user models

Your New Relic organization can have one of two pricing plans, and your users can be on one or both of our user models. Your pricing plan and user model are not directly connected: you can be on the newer pricing plan and have users on our original user model, and vice versa.

Understanding which user model you and your users are on is important because that determines how you manage them. The table below explains how pricing and user model relate to each other but if you want to quickly determine your user model using the UI, see Determine user model.

Pricing plan factors Users on original user model Users on New Relic One user model
Original pricing

If your organization was created before July 30 2020, you remain on our original pricing plan until you transition to New Relic One pricing.

See original pricing plan docs.

For original pricing accounts, your users are on the original user model, unless they were added via automated user management.

See original user docs.

For original pricing accounts, users added with automated user management (users imported from your identity provider) are on the New Relic One user model. Upon switching to New Relic One pricing, you'll have new roles available.

New Relic One pricing

An organization is on the New Relic One pricing plan if it was created on or after July 30 2020 or it's an older organization but has transitioned to New Relic One pricing.

See New Relic One pricing docs.

If your organization has transitioned to New Relic One pricing, your users are on our original user model (unless they were added via automated user management). These users are now also categorized by user type (full vs basic).

See original user docs.

If your organization was created on or after July 30 2020, your users are on this user model.

See New Relic One user docs.

Pricing plans explained

New Relic organizations are on one of two pricing plans:

Determine pricing plan using UI

To determine which pricing plan you’re on: go to one.newrelic.com, select the account dropdown, and select Manage your plan. If you see billing information about data ingested and the number of billable users, you’re on the new pricing plan.

New Relic One pricing plan - billing UI
If you're on New Relic One pricing, you'll see a billing UI like this.

User models explained

We have two user models:

  • Our newer New Relic One user model (see docs)
  • Our original user model (see docs)

In this context, "user model" refers to the data structure of a New Relic user and how it interacts with the broader account/organization that it's in.

To learn the factors behind what user model your users are on, see the pricing and user-model table.

Are you switching to our new pricing plan? Learn about updating your users.

Determine user model using UI

To determine what user model you're on, from the account dropdown select User preferences. if you see the UI below, you're on the newer New Relic One user model. If you see a different UI with much more content, you're on the original user model (see original user docs).

New Relic One user model - user preferences

To determine if you can manage users on the New Relic One user model, see Manage users.

Impacts of user model

Some impacts of being on the New Relic One user model:

  • All New Relic accounts in the same billing group are under a top-level organization. Now, organizations will have firmer boundaries and more control over their users.
  • A user’s capabilities are determined by the group they’re assigned to and the roles associated with that group. The new user model has a new set of standard roles, and a new process for granting user groups access to roles and accounts.
  • The New Relic One user model has some limitations. For details, see Limitations below.
Limitations

Here are capability differences for users on the New Relic One user model compared to users on our original user model:

Transition to the new pricing plan

If you want to switch to New Relic One pricing:

  • Have a paid account? Speak to your New Relic account representative. As part of that process, you will need to transition your users.
  • Have a free account? You currently have access to all of New Relic One. However, if you’d like to transition to the new pricing, please sign up for a new account. On sign up, a Standard tier account includes the following for free:
    • One full user with access to Full-Stack Observability
    • 100 GBs of ingested data per month
    • 100M Proactive Detection app transactions and 1,000 Incident Intelligence events per month

To upgrade to Pro or Enterprise, or to learn more about pricing, see New Relic pricing.

Transition your users

If you are switching to New Relic One pricing, your users are probably on our original user model (some users who are added via automated user management are on the newer user model: see AUM user conversion). Your original user model users will remain on that user model, with all associated roles and management options. In addition, they are also now newly categorized by user type (full user vs basic user) for the purposes of the new pricing model.

Your users, by default, start out as full users. For users you want to have basic, limited access to New Relic, you can set them as basic users, which are free. When you set a user to basic user, or to full user, that user's type is changed across all accounts in that New Relic organization. For tips on how to decide which users to make basic or full, see User type.

Caveats for original user model users:

  • Your basic users will temporarily have the same permissions as full users, but basic user limits will be enforced in the near future.
  • Your basic users do not have the option to self-serve upgrade to become a full user. They must be upgraded by your New Relic admin.

To manage users, you must be an Admin or Owner. To change a full user to a basic user:

  1. From the account dropdown at top right, click Account settings, then click Users and roles.
  2. Select a user and change the user type to Basic user.

Transition users who were added via AUM

If you have users added via automated user management (provisioned using your identity provider), then your users are on the newer Relic One user model. To see this explained in diagram form, see Table of pricing and user models.

Even though these users are on the newer user model, they lack some new roles/capabilities. If you want these users to be able to manage users, you will need to grant them these roles. To do this, talk to your New Relic account representative. Once you are set up, you can follow the standard instructions for managing user groups and roles.

For more help

If you need more help, check out these support and learning resources: