There are several factors that can affect your access to a New Relic feature, or New Relic data.
User-related settings can impact the features or data you have access to. If you think your user permissions are preventing you from accessing something, you or your admins should examine your assigned user type, roles, and accounts to understand what you have access to.
Potential permissions-related factors that can affect your access:
Your user type (basic, core, or full platform) can affect what you can access. In most cases, features that are off-limits due to user type will show a UI message about that.
Your assigned roles can affect what you can access. How your user roles and permissions work depends on which user model you're on:
A New Relic user is prohibited from sharing their login with other people. To enforce that rule, we have limits on the number of active sessions and IP addresses that a New Relic user in an organization can have at one time. A New Relic user can have a maximum of three concurrent active sessions in use at any given time, or three unique IP addresses in use at any given time. (In this context, a session represents a unique login to the New Relic platform. The session is tracked by a token assigned for that session.)
If you exceed the limit, you'll see an
Active session limit reached message upon login and an option to close open sessions.
For how to configure your users' sessions, see Session settings.
If you're logged in but can't find an expected account or UI page, it may be because you're in the wrong account in your organization or in the wrong authentication domain in your organization. Some tips:
- If your organization has multiple accounts and you have access to those accounts, you can switch to another account by going to the account switcher at the top left of most UI pages.
- If you have multiple user records (for example, access to more than one New Relic organization), you can switch between your user records.
- If you can't find an expected account, it may be because you haven't been assigned access to that account. See user permissions issues.
- If you check the account switcher and can't see the account you're looking for, it may be for one of these reasons:
- You may need to be added to that account. How you do this depends on your user model: Our newer user model | Our original user model.
- You may have more than one New Relic login associated with the same email address. If you think this may be the case, log out and log back in. When you input your email address, the login UI displays a note if it detects multiple user records and gives you an option for verifying your email to see all available accounts. Other details about multiple logins:
Other related docs:
We have two pricing models, and this can impact feature availability:
- Our newer usage-based pricing model: Our newer pricing model gives users broad cross-platform access. For this pricing model, the main factors affecting access are your organization's edition, whether they have Data Plus, and a user's permissions.
- Our original product-based pricing model: This plan separates our offerings by product. If you're on this plan, access to some features may depend on the products you pay for.
We have three pricing editions: Standard, Pro, and Enterprise. Some features are only available to Pro or Enterprise edition organizations: those features are mostly related to higher-level account administration (like the ability to add accounts to an organization).
Learn more about our pricing models.
You might encounter an error screen in the New Relic UI for one of several reasons, including:
- You don't have permissions to view that account or that UI page (for example, due to not being assigned to an account or a specific capability).
- A monitored entity wasn't found. This might result in an error like "The entity you're looking for either doesn't exist or isn't associated with your account".
Different types of New Relic data have different data retention periods. Once data has passed a given data retention point, it may be deleted or be aggregated for longer term storage. For details, see Data retention.