New Relic stores different types of data for different periods of time. The retention period for a type of data will vary depending on the product, the subscription level, and the feature.
The best way to understand your data retention and see what options are available is to go to the UI. One reason this is recommended is because your organization may have edited your settings and they may no longer be the default settings documented here.
The Data retention UI page is located in the Data management hub. Adjust retention values by clicking Edit retention.
Once telemetry data (events, metrics, logs, traces) is reported to New Relic and available for querying, that data cannot be edited or deleted. This is a purposeful design decision that optimizes New Relic's speed and performance. Data will expire after its data retention ends.
If you sent unwanted data or sensitive data to New Relic that must be removed, contact your account representative at New Relic, or get support at support.newrelic.com.
Select a New Relic product to see details about its data retention:
Also see the data retention details for APIs, including: