• Log inStart now

Billable users: Billing and rules

For our usage-based pricing model, the count of billable users is a billing factor.

What is a billable user?

Billable users are users with a user type of either core user or full platform user. Basic users are free.

Other details about what makes a user billable:

  • For users on our newer user model: users are billable when they're added as billable users. Even if a billable user has never logged in to New Relic, and has a Pending invite tag in the UI, they're still billable.
  • For our primary pricing version: there's a per-month charge for a billable user, and no pro-rating. This means that whether you keep a user as a billable user type for an entire month or only a minute during that month, it costs the same. Learn more about user calculations.
  • Our Standard edition comes with one free full platform user.

View users in the UI

For how to view your billable user count in the UI, see Billing-related UI. If your organization contains multiple accounts, you must be in the primary reporting account (typically the first account created in your organization) to see all users in your organization.

For how to manage users in the UI, see User management.

Pricing versions: primary and initial

We have two versions of our usage-based pricing model:

  • Our primary usage-based pricing version, which includes core users for many organizations. This version released on January 12, 2022 gives you access to a third user type: the core user. Many organizations on PAYG are now on this primary usage-based pricing version, which was effective on November 1, 2022. Some organizations on the Annual Pool of Funds buying programs that auto-renew after January 15, 2023, even without access to core, will be on this primary pricing version. It also has different billing calculations and user downgrade rules.
  • The initial usage-based pricing version. If your New Relic organization existed prior to January 12, 2022, and hasn't switched to the newer version, this is your version. Organizations on this version can add only basic users and full platform users; they don't have access to core users. This version will be increasingly deprecated over time as customers on this version switch to the primary version. See the rules for this version.

Important

Some organizations that auto-renew on Annual Pool of Funds after February 15, 2023 may need to accept additional terms in order to add core users, but are on the primary pricing version, not the initial pricing version.

Tips for determining which version you're on:

  • If your organization has core users or has the ability to add core users, you're on our primary version. If you're on PAYG buying program starting November 1, then you're on our primary version. If you're on the latest Savings Plan or Volume Plan buying programs of New Relic, then you're on the primary version. If your contract auto-renews on Annual Pool of Funds after January 15, 2023, then you will be on the primary version at that time. All others are likely on the initial version.
  • Another way to determine your version is by going to the Manage your plan UI. If you see "New Relic One - Users", that means you're on the initial version of pricing.

For more about the differences between these versions, see Core users release.

User calculation for the primary pricing version

Important

These rules apply for organizations on our primary pricing version (the version that includes core users for many buying programs; some organizations still on Annual Pool of Funds after January 15, 2023 will be on this version upon renewal).

You can use the usage UI to get an overview of your billable user count. If you need more detail than the UI provides, you can also run usage-related NRQL queries.

To determine an organization's count of billable users in a calendar month, we count the users during that month who had a billable user type of either full platform user or core user. A user's billable user type is defined as the highest user type at which a user was set during a calendar month. We use UTC timezone to define the start and end of a calendar month.

For an example of how this works in practice: If a user is set as a full platform user at any point during a calendar month, their billable user type for that month is "full platform user," and won't change, even if they downgrade later that month. This is the case even if that user is changed to a full platform user only briefly.

If you're planning on adding billable users or changing your users' user type, you should keep these rules in mind. Some tips:

  • If you want to add a billable user or upgrade a user, you might choose to do that at the beginning of the month.
  • If you want to downgrade a user, you might choose to do that at the end of the month.

The count of your unique users is determined by email address. If there are multiple user records in an organization that have the same email address, for billing purposes those user records would count as a single user, and that user's billable user type would be their highest user type assigned during that month.

For users on our newer user model: users are billable when they're added by admins as billable users. Even if a billable user has never logged in to New Relic and has a Pending invite tag in the UI, they're still billable. (For users on our original user model, Pending invite users are not billable.)

For more on adding and inviting users, see Add users.

The cost of your billable users depends on an organization's pricing edition (Standard, Pro, or Enterprise), or on any custom deal you might have with New Relic.

When a New Relic organization first starts being billed, their billable user count is pro-rated based on when during the month they started. If an organization cancels their subscription, prorating is also applied for their last month.

User downgrade rules for primary pricing version

Important

This section applies only for organizations on the primary pricing version.

The rules pertaining to how many times you can downgrade full platform users differ depending on your usage plan:

Tiered pricing

Some organizations have access to tiered pricing for billable users. For details on that, see Tiered pricing.

Rules for the initial pricing version

The following rules apply only for organizations on the initial version of pricing:

  • How billable users are determined. For a calendar month, an organization is billed based on a calculation of the number of full platform users for that month.
  • Prorating in first and last month. The count of billable users is prorated based on when a New Relic organization starts their subscription, or based on when a user becomes a full platform user (added as a full platform user or converted to one).
  • Users are billable when provisioned. A user counts as billable the moment they are set to a billable user type in New Relic. This applies regardless of whether that user has ever logged into or used New Relic.
  • User count based on email address. If there are multiple user records in an organization that have the same email address, for billing purposes that would count as a single user.
  • Caveat for our original user model. If your organization has users on our original user model: If a user is set as a basic user in one account in the organization and as a billable user in another account, the billable user status takes precedence.

For user downgrade rules, see below:

Copyright © 2022 New Relic Inc.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.