• /
  • Log in
  • Free account
Docs

Manage data retention

This doc applies to accounts on our New Relic One pricing plan. If you're on our original product-based pricing plan, see Original data retention. Not sure which you're on? See Overview of pricing and account/user structure.

Review and manage how long your data will be stored in the New Relic database (NRDB) on the Data retention page. You can also review the sources of data that you’re storing, when they were last updated, and the length the data is stored.

The ability to edit data retention periods differs depending on your pricing tier:

  • Standard tier: your data retention is fixed, and falls between 8 and 395 days (about 13 months) of retention, depending on which capabilities of the New Relic platform you’re using. The prescribed retention levels ensure that you can explore your data and experience the value of New Relic. If you need to raise some of the retention limits for your particular business needs, you can purchase additional retention.
  • Pro and Enterprise tier: users with a Billing user or Data retention manager role can change the retention periods for each data type. On the Data retention page, select the Edit retention button to manually change the number of days you want to store each type of retention.

screenshot of data retention page

From the Data retention page, which shows the source of data, you can click Edit settings to adjust the data retention for each source.

Retention periods

The following table shows the default retention settings for our New Relic One pricing plan. To adjust retention settings, you must be on a Pro or Enterprise tier.

Source

Event namespace

Days retained

APM

APM

8

APM

APM errors

8

Browser

Browser

8

Browser

Browser events

8

Browser

Browser JS errors

8

Browser

Browser page view timing

8

Custom events

Custom events

30

Serverless

Lambda

8

Serverless

Lambda custom

8

Serverless

Lambda spans

8

Logs

Log

30

Infrastructure

Infrastructure processes

8

Infrastructure

Infrastructure integrations

395 (13 months)

Mobile

Mobile crash event trails (breadcrumb)

8

Mobile

Mobile exception

8

Mobile

Mobile general

8

Mobile

Mobile error

8

Mobile

Mobile crash

90

Mobile

Mobile session

90

Traces

Traces

8

Metric data rollup

Metric timeslice data is generated by APM (both custom metrics and out-of-the-box metrics), Mobile, and Browser agents. MTS data is aggregated first to 1-minute rollups retained for 8 days, then aggregated to 1-hour roll-ups for 90 days, with key metric data in turn being stored indefinitely. We meter on the size of the initial 1-minute rollup, not on any of the subsequent rollups. Read on to learn the key metrics by product.

Key metrics reported by APM, Browser, and Mobile

Here are the key metrics that are stored indefinitely.

Product

Key metrics

APM

Browser

  • Apdex, for browser
  • Browser page load time
  • Throughput total. After 90 days, there is no breakout by browser type, and only the combined average value is available for the time range requested.

Mobile

Metric raw data

Metric raw data, from APM, Prometheus remote-write API, metrics functionality of the Telemetry SDK, and integrations built on the Telemetry SDK, is handled a little differently. Raw sub-minute metric data is stored for 30 days. Beyond 30 days, 1-minute resolution roll-up events are created and retained for 13 months. As with Metric timeslice data, we meter and bill on the size of the raw ingest, not the subsequent rollups.

Metric retention periods are not editable.

Account inheritance

For organizations that have master/sub-account structures, data retention is inherited by a master account's sub-accounts. If a sub-account has its own retention settings, those override settings inherited from the master account.

Copy retention values

If you have permission to edit retention settings, you can also copy retention values from one sub-account to other sub-accounts under the same master account. To do this, from within a sub-account, select the Copy settings to other accounts link, and then select the sub-accounts you want to apply the retention values to.

image of sub-accounts to copy retention values to

Select the sub-accounts you want to copy retention values to.

Data deletion

Once telemetry data (events, metrics, logs, traces) is reported to New Relic and available for querying, that data cannot be edited or deleted. This is a purposeful design decision that optimizes New Relic's speed and performance. Data will expire after its data retention ends.

Original pricing plan differences

If you're on our original product-based pricing plan, you have different data retention rules. See Original data retention.

For more help

If you need more help, check out these support and learning resources:

Docs
Create issueEdit page
Copyright © 2021 New Relic Inc.