Customize your service maps

This describes how to create, customize, and use the New Relic APM service maps feature.

Access to this feature depends on your paid subscription level [external link] .

Create maps

The APM service maps feature helps you create your first map by providing default map or architecture suggestions that automatically build a default map (if you have more than ten reporting apps). To view these suggested maps, go to rpm.newrelic.com/apm > Service Maps > Suggested maps.

To create a new map from scratch:

  1. Go to rpm.newrelic.com/apm > Service Maps > Map list > Create new map [plus circle].

    OR

    To copy an existing map, go to rpm.newrelic.com/apm > Service Maps > (select a map) > Save as new.

  2. Name your map.
  3. Rearrange, group, or add nodes on the map as needed.

Save, rename, share maps

Use the following map functions to customize your maps:

Save
  • To save changes to a map, select Save.
  • To create a copy of the current map, select Save as new.

To preserve any changes you make to a shared map when you have read-only access, first create an editable copy of the map by selecting Save as new, and then make your changes.

Rename

To rename a map:

  1. Go to rpm.newrelic.com/apm > Service Maps > (select a map).
  2. Select the pencil [fa-pencil] icon next to the map name.
  3. Change the name, then select Save.
Share

New service maps default to private. To change your sharing settings:

  1. Go to rpm.newrelic.com/apm > Service Maps > (select a map).
  2. Select the pencil [fa-pencil] icon next to the map name.
  3. Clear the Make this map private checkbox.
  4. To share a link to the map, select its permalink.
Change owner

If you have Admin rights on the account, you can take ownership of other users' shared maps. This feature is useful when the original owner of a shared map is no longer a user on the account.

To take ownership of a shared map:

  1. Go to rpm.newrelic.com/apm > Service Maps > (select a map).
  2. Select Change owner, or select the pencil [fa-pencil] icon next to the map name.
  3. Click Yes in the confirmation dialog to take ownership of the map.

Admins can take ownership of each other's maps. When you take ownership of a map and the original owner is not an Admin on the account, the original owner will have read-only access.

Add or remove nodes on maps

After you create or save a map, build out your map by adding nodes to it. Nodes are added to the map differently based on the node type.

To remove any node from the map, mouse over the node, then select the remove X icon.

Applications, Mobile apps, plugins

Nodes for applications, mobile apps, and plugins (including databases) need to be added to the map in order to add any other nodes. Nodes are added and connected into the map as you select them. The check mark [check mark] icon means that node is already on the map.

To add New Relic monitored apps or plugins to maps:

  1. Go to rpm.newrelic.com/apm > Service Maps > (select a map) > App/Service.
  2. Select any applications from the App/Servicelist.
  3. Rearrange or group together as needed.
Browser, databases, external services, connected apps

To add Browser apps, databases, external services, or other connected apps to the map:

  1. Select an incoming or outgoing connection widget.
  2. From the list of connections, mouse over an app or service, then select the plus [plus icon] icon.
  3. Rearrange as needed.
crop-incoming-outgoing-service-maps.png
Custom nodes

To add a custom node to the map:

  1. Go to rpm.newrelic.com/apm > Service Maps > (select a map > App/Service.
  2. From the App/Service list, select Create custom node.
  3. Name the node.
  4. Add connections: Select the left (for incoming) or right (for outgoing) arrow arrow-right icons. Then select the plus plus-circle icon on your target node.
  5. Select Save.
  6. Rearrange as needed.

To add or remove custom node connections:

  1. Mouse over the custom node and select the pencil pencil icon.
  2. Select the left (for incoming) or right (for outgoing) arrow arrow-right icons.
  3. To add a connection, select the plus plus-circle icon.
  4. To remove a connection, select the minus minus-circle icon.
  5. Select Save.
crop-custom-connections-service-maps.png

Move around the map

Move around the map by panning or zooming in and out.

If you want to... Do this...
Pan the map
  • In pan arrows mode, click and drag.
  • In drag-select mode, hold the Alt key, then click and drag.
Zoom in and out In either mode, zoom in and out by scrolling the mouse wheel.
View your entire map in traffic light mode Zoom out until node details fade out and are replaced by health status colors.
Toggle the traffic light view on and off Select Views, then select Traffic light mode.
View all the nodes and their dependencies Select Discover your environment.
Drill down into more detail from a node Use standard UI functions.

Select, arrange, group nodes

Click on a node to select it and view its performance summary. You can also select multiple nodes at once, to group and ungroup them:

Select nodes

To select one node, click on the node. To select multiple nodes:

  • Click the drag-select icon to switch to drag-select mode. Click and drag the mouse to draw a square around the nodes you want to select.

    OR

  • Hold the Shift key and click on each node you want to select.
Arrange nodes

Auto-arrange cannot be undone. Consider saving a copy of your map first.

  • To arrange nodes on the map, select one or more node, then drag to a snap point on the map.
  • To automatically organize all your nodes and connections, select Auto-arrange map.
Group and ungroup nodes
If you want to... Do this...
Group nodes together on the map Select two or more nodes, then select Create group.
Name your new group Mouse over the group, then select the pencil pencil icon.
Rename an existing group Select the pencil pencil icon.
Remove nodes from a group

Select the group, then select the minus minus-circle icon for each item you want to remove.

Delete maps

To delete a map:

  1. Go to rpm.newrelic.com/apm > Service Maps > (select a map).
  2. Select the map name's pencil [fa-pencil] icon.
  3. Select Delete map.

For more help

Recommendations for learning more: