Bulk user actions: Add, delete, or update batches of users

Owners and Admins

With New Relic's Bulk user actions feature, you can add, update, or delete multiple users at once. This can be helpful for:

  • adding roles when multiple new employees start
  • deleting roles when multiple employees leave
  • giving multiple employees Admin roles

Update users in bulk

Some important rules and recommendations for making bulk user actions:

  • You cannot make updates to your own role or an Owner role.
  • You cannot edit an existing user's email address or name.
  • You should avoid editing an existing user by deleting and re-adding them because this can have unintended consequences (for example, API keys associated with the original user will be lost).

To add new user roles, update existing user roles, or delete user roles:

  1. Go to rpm.newrelic.com > (account dropdown) > Account settings > Users and Roles and add /bulk_actions at the end of the URL.

    Example URL:

    https://account.newrelic.com/accounts/123456789/users/bulk_actions
  2. Download a Backup CSV file. Downloading a backup file keeps a record of the users in your account prior to changes being made, and allows you to easily re-add any users that may be removed accidentally.
  3. Download a CSV of users or a CSV template. Each bulk action (add, update, or delete) will require its own CSV file. New Relic recommends saving your files with an account number, date, and the bulk action being performed. For example: account_123456789_delete_users_2018-06-29

  4. Populate that sheet with only the users whose roles you'll be applying the chosen bulk action for. Remove users from the spreadsheet whose roles you do not want to change.
    Bulk action Fields
    Add

    Required fields: user email, name, base role

    Optional field: add-on role

    Update

    Required fields: user email (do not edit), name (do not edit), base role

    Optional field: add-on role

    Delete Required fields: only user email
    Example CSV file

    The following is an example downloaded CSV of users that lists four users on the New Relic account. In this example, we want to delete the user Alex Datanerd. All other users must be removed before uploading the CSV.

    Email Name Base role Add-on roles Last active
    User1 @Company.com Jane Datanerd Owner 2/6/18
    User2 @Company.com Jamie Datanerd Admin 6/6/18
    User3 @Company.com Alex Datanerd User apm_admin, browser_admin 7/25/18
    User4 @Company.com Pat Datanerd User alerts_admin, insights_admin, apm_admin 4/6/18

    The other three users, whose roles will remain unchanged, are removed. The final CSV only shows Alex's name. This file would then be uploaded using the Delete users in CSV option in the UI.

    Email Name Base role Add-on roles Last active
    User3 @Company.com Alex Datanerd User apm_admin, browser_admin
  5. In the UI, select a CSV action: Add, Update, or Delete the users listed within the CSV file.
  6. Upload the new CSV, and select Save changes.

Troubleshooting

If a user is removed or changed during your CSV file upload by mistake, you can add them back through another CSV file upload.

Be aware that associated permissions may be lost when a user is deleted and re-added. For example, associated API keys will need to be re-added.

If you have a backup CSV file

If you have a backup CSV file saved:

  1. Open the backup CSV file.
  2. Populate the backup CSV file with the users whose roles will be modified.
  3. Select a CSV action for the new CSV file: add, update, or delete
  4. Upload the new CSV, and select Save changes.
If no backup file exists

If no backup CSV file has been previously downloaded:

  1. Download the CSV file template.
  2. Populate the spreadsheet with the information required for the user to be restored.
    Action Required fields
    Add

    User email, name, base role.

    Optional: Add-on role

    Update

    User email, name, base role.

    Optional: Add-on role

    Delete User email
  3. Select a CSV action for the new CSV file: Add, Update, or Delete.​
  4. Upload the new CSV, and select Save changes.

For more help

Recommendations for learning more: