Add/update users (original user model)

Original
user
model

This doc explains how to manage users on our original user model, which primarily corresponds to accounts on our original product-based pricing plan.

Not sure which pricing plan or user model you're on? See Overview of pricing plan and users.

This document explains how to add users to a New Relic accounts and update their roles. You must be an Owner or an Admin for your New Relic account to add, change, and delete user roles and permissions.

Topics include:

View account users

To view the list of individuals assigned to your account and their roles, go to: account dropdown > Account settings > Users and roles > Users.

To sort the user list by name, email, job title, or role: From the Active users list, select the column title.

You can also use the New Relic REST API to obtain a list of everyone and their roles in your New Relic account.

View pending SAML-SSO users

New Relic accounts with SAML Single Sign On (SSO) may have a list of Pending users. These are individuals who have been added to the SAML-enabled account but have not yet confirmed.

Add a new user

Owner or Admins

To add a new user to your New Relic account:

  1. Go to: account dropdown > Account settings > Users and roles > Users.
  2. In the upper right corner, click plus-circle New user.
  3. Enter the appropriate name and email address.
  4. Select their base role as either Admin, User, or Restricted.
  5. Select Add user.

The new user will receive an email notification automatically from New Relic.

New Relic recommends a maximum of 1,000 accounts per user. Additional accounts may result in limited access to some New Relic features.

Update account roles

Owner or Admins

To update a person's role and capabilities:

  1. Go to: account dropdown > Account settings > Users and roles > Users.
  2. Select the person's name.
  3. Under Roles and capabilities, select their base role as Admin, User, or Restricted.

The account Owner must update the Owner role.

Delete a user

Owner or Admins

To remove a user from your New Relic account:

  1. Go to: account dropdown > Account settings > Users and roles > Users.
  2. Click on the name of the person you would like to update.
  3. Click trash-o Delete User.

You can also add, update, or delete users in bulk via CSV file.

Change the account Owner

A New Relic account can have only one Owner role at any time. You must be the current account Owner to change your role to someone who currently has an Admin role for the account. If the current Owner is unavailable, contact your account representative at New Relic, or get support at support.newrelic.com.

Update the account Owner role

You cannot delete or remove your assigned Owner role. However, if the account has one or more Admin role, you can change an Owner to an Admin.

  1. Go to: account dropdown > Account settings > Account > Users and roles.
  2. Above the Active users list, select [exchange arrows] Change owner. If an account has no Admins, this button won't be available.
  3. Select someone who currently has an Admin role for the account.
  4. Refresh the page for changes to take effect.

Your previous Owner role automatically changes to an Admin role.

Owner unavailable

Anyone in the New Relic account can find out who is the current assigned Owner.

  1. Go to: account dropdown > Account settings > Account > Users and roles.
  2. View the Base role column to locate your account Owner.

The [exchange arrows] Change owner button is only visible to the current account Owner. If the current Owner is unable to change the role (for example, that person no longer is with your organization), contact your account representative at New Relic, or get support at support.newrelic.com.

For more help

If you need more help, check out these support and learning resources: