Users and roles

New Relic's user interface is designed to allow authorized individuals access to the broadest possible amount of data, regardless of their assigned role. This document summarizes the types of roles and the associated rights or permissions.

To view the list of individuals assigned to your account and their roles: From the New Relic menu bar, select (account) > Account settings > Account > Summary. For more information, see Adding and updating users.

Account roles

A New Relic account can have one Owner only. You can share an account with other users in your company by creating Admins, Users, and/or Restricted Users.

Account role Description
Owner The person who initially creates the New Relic account and receives all billing queries. The Owner has complete access to all of the account information from (account) > Account settings > Account. The Owner can also install and configure the New Relic agent, and they can enable or set up features.
Admins One or more individuals who add, edit, and delete any account information from (account) > Account settings > Account except Billing. Admins can also install and configure the New Relic agent, and they can enable or set up features.
Users One or more individuals who use (and optionally set up) the available New Relic features. In general, Admins take responsibility for setting up features, and Users and Restricted Users use them.
Restricted Users One or more individuals who can view (but not set up or change) any New Relic features. The Restricted User role is useful, for example, for demos. You can change your New Relic session settings so that Restricted User logins do not time out, and then set the user interface to Kiosk mode.

Account permissions

Here is a summary of basic user rights for your New Relic account.

Function Owner Admin User Restricted
Update your own account information (name, password, default account, email preferences, etc.) from (account) > User preferences. fa-check fa-check fa-check fa-check

Update users' job titles and roles from (account) > Account settings.

fa-check fa-check
View the list of individuals on the account from (account) > Account settings > Account > Summary. fa-check fa-check fa-check fa-check
Change the account Owner. fa-check

Add, edit, delete account Admins, Users, and Restricted Users.

When the account Owner and Admins add individuals to the account, New Relic automatically sends them an email message.

fa-check fa-check
Maintain billing information. fa-check

Page and feature permissions

Here is a basic summary of user rights for your New Relic account's pages and features.

Function Owner Admin User Restricted
View* New Relic features, pages, and plugins. fa-check fa-check fa-check fa-check
Use* New Relic features, pages, and plugins. fa-check fa-check fa-check
Enable and disable New Relic features available at the account's subscription level. fa-check fa-check

* The ability for individuals to use change or delete functions will depend on the specific New Relic feature or subscription level. For example, if available, Users can create and view custom dashboards, key transactions, and plugins, but Restricted Users can only view them (not create them). However, both Users and Restricted Users can use the Embed and Note features for any available page.

Alert permissions

Here is a summary of user rights for your New Relic account's Alert features.

Function Owner Admin User Restricted
Configure and update alert policies and notification channels. fa-check fa-check
Acknowledge alerts. fa-check fa-check fa-check See Note

With New Relic's existing alerting system, Restricted Users cannot acknowledge alert incidents. However, with New Relic Alerts, any role (including Restricted Users) can acknowledge alert incidents.

Insights permissions

Here is a summary of user rights for your New Relic account's Insights features.

Function Owner Admin User Restricted
Create or delete Insights dashboards. fa-check fa-check fa-check fa-check
Add or delete widgets. fa-check fa-check fa-check fa-check

For more information on sharing your Insights dashboards with others, see sharing levels for dashboards.

Synthetics permissions

Here is a summary of user rights for your New Relic account's Synthetics features.

Function Owner Admin User Restricted
Add, edit, and delete monitors. fa-check fa-check fa-check fa-check
View Synthetics pages. fa-check fa-check fa-check fa-check

Other permissions

Here is a summary of user rights for other New Relic features.

Function Owner Admin User Restricted
View information about the New Relic agent configuration. fa-check fa-check fa-check
Activate and view account API keys. fa-check fa-check
Delete non-reporting apps and servers. fa-check fa-check

For more help

Additional documentation resources include:

If you need additional help, get support at support.newrelic.com.